Do you want to learn Italian but you’re always on the go? If this is your case, you should check out this platform. In this ItalianPod101 review we get into a lot of details about this podcast-style course. We like it because it allows you to fit lessons into your busy agenda using your mobile phone, tablet, iPad, laptop, or desktop PC.

Leopard_chasing_a_man_Roman_soldier_cartoon

ItalianPod101 is a production of Innovative Languages. They also have courses for 33 other languages. The platform has an intuitive interface making it very easy to use. The lessons are of high-quality and we judge they’re a good match for those starting to learn the language.

We recommend this platform to anybody that’s at a beginner or intermediate level. However, for those at an advanced level, we would not be advocating it.

Have you already made up your mind to join ItalianPod101? Click here.

For those of you that came for a thorough and honest review of this course, please continue reading.

Italianpod101 review

Italianpod101 offers the possibility to test their course for free for a period of 7-days. So, you could take advantage of this and see if you like their format or not.

The process of signing up is very straightforward. There aren’t a lot of input fields to fill in and registration would typically take less than 1 minute.

Signing up is mandatory. When you sign up you need to enter your Italian language level as well as add an email address. Afterward, an email will arrive in your inbox. You need to confirm it and that’s it! You’re good to go.

Another useful alternative is that you can also sign-up through your Facebook account.

How does ItalianPod101 approach the language?

They believe that you should start contact with the language in natural contexts. This means the contexts in which natives speak the language. Therefore, along the course you’ll listen to practical expressions you would hear in Italy.

The Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) agrees with this method.

To achieve this goal, most lessons start with a simple dialogue. This dialogue introduces a language skill in context. The next step is a walk-through of the cultural background in which the dialogue takes place. After that, you’ll go over the key vocabulary found in the dialog. Finally, you will also see explanations of phrases, morphology, and syntax.

ItalianPod101’s focus on grammar instruction is minimal.

A quick walk through the header menu in ItalianPod101

Once you sign in, you’ll find this header menu. Let’s walk you through it to get you started as soon as possible.

Header_menu_ItalianPod101_Roman_Soldiar

The Dashboard tab:

This is where the platform suggests the lessons you should take. The lessons here are ones that they think you should study according to your level.

The platform puts these lessons together in what they call “pathways”. Accordingly, it adds more pathways to your dashboard as you progress through the lessons.

These learning pathways are a recent implementation. Before, ItalianPod101 had a problem with messy, unstructured lessons.

They now have grouped lessons together by levels, topics, or areas of interest. Thus, this has improved their presentation by providing an organized and linear learning route.

So let’s give you a couple of examples to show you what we mean.

They have a pathway called “Level 1 Italian”. It contains 78 lessons equating to 14 hours and 59 minutes. This module also includes 29 assignments.

Italian_Level_1_Roman_Soldier

They also have another pathway called “Survival Phrases”. This contains 60 lessons equating to 6 hours and 48 minutes.

Survival_phrases_Roman_Soldier

And so on. You now have an idea of what these pathways are and how they’ve organized their content.

The Lessons tab:

Here you’ll find the lesson library, newest lessons, and favorites.

The basic function of this tab is that it allows you to choose your own pathways. You can check and highlight the pathways that you want to follow as you judge convenient. There are lots of options when it comes to paths.

You may be one of those that don’t feel comfortable with self-directed learning. If this is the case, then you should follow the pathways given to you on your dashboard (the previous tab we checked).

But on the other hand, you may feel limited with imposed structure. If this is so, then finding your own lessons on the lessons tab (this tab we’re reviewing right now) is definitely for you.

The Vocabulary tab:

Here you can find many free resources applicable to your study plan. To mention a few, in this section you will see an Italian dictionary and Italian key phrases. You will also see the word of the day, and a list of the 100 most commonly used words, among others.

Additionally, you’ll be able to find a very useful flashcard tool. We’ll give you more details about this in the next segment of our post. In that further section, we will highlight the main features available in ItalianPod101.

My teacher tab:

Here they will assign you a private teacher. The teacher sits down with you and personalizes your learning curriculum. To do this, the teacher takes into consideration several things. These are your goals for learning the language, your current level, and your study needs.

This feature is optional and we recognize that not all students want or need it. This feature is exclusive to the Premium Plus plan. Further on in this article, we’ll describe the different plans ItalianPod101 offers.

Main features available in ItalianPod101

As we have discussed above, each pathway consists of a set of lessons. Since ItalianPod101 follows a podcast-style delivery, these lessons are usually audio lessons. Because of their importance in the course, we’ll start addressing them.

Audio lessons:

These audio lessons usually feature a native speaker and a non-native speaker. With a few exceptions, they’re usually short and concise, lasting 10 to 12 minutes.

Structure of the audio lessons

Diving into the structure of the audio lessons, we find out that most follow this pattern:

Italian dialogue at normal speed

Dialogue in Italian slowed down

Dialogue with English translations

Vocabulary breakdown of the words used in the previous dialogue

Grammar discussion

Cultural pointers

Commendation

These audio lessons are 100% downloadable. In theory, this means that you have the option of downloading the whole course content. That is, even without having to renew your subscription. You aren’t limited to only online use as you are with other online courses. With ItalianPod101, you own what you pay for.

We must mention an important point to keep in mind when learning Italian. You should make a distinction between formal and informal speech. Italian people, in given contexts, tend to be more formal than people do in English. These audio lessons will aid you with this. They offer dialogues for both informal and formal speech.

The last section of the lesson is the transcript which details everything you heard in the audio. This includes both the parts in English and the parts in Italian. You even have the option to download the transcript as a PDF document. We’ve just mentioned that you can download the audios. Now we’re telling you that you can download the transcript too.

If there are words you would like to review further on, you have at the end of the module some more options. You can add these words to the Flashcard Deck or to Word Bank. You can also choose Slideshow (where you can hear the words again) or Take Quiz to test your knowledge.

A commendable tactic used in the lessons to capture your attention is their setting. They structured the lessons based on various situational topics. They selected authentic situations that you would encounter in Italy. This is instead of only presenting grammar points as old textbooks used to do. For example, the lessons would take place: at a restaurant, on the bus, asking for medical help, and so on. This helps you immerse yourself into the scene they paint.

Criticism

We should also mention a couple of things some users don’t like.

Throughout the audio lessons, conversational banter in English takes place.

Another criticism is that the lessons sound very scripted.

We all have different things that make us click or turn us off. You have the last word on these!

Aditional words concerning the audio lessons

For those that don’t like to listen to the English-speaking parts, there is another option. This is the option to go straight into the meat of the Italian vocabulary and dialogues.

A section of comments is available at the end of the lesson. Here you can share your opinions and discuss any aspect of the lessons.

We advice you to take a look at the online lesson player. It will be your study-buddy as you learn Italian. With it, you can listen to the full track, just the Italian audio, or even go over the lesson again. This review track is especially helpful when you want to practice. You can practice your own pronunciation or your listening skills.

Summarized opinion about the audio lessons

Imagine they gave us the task of summarizing our opinion about the audio lessons in three words. In that case we would pick: logical, clear, and extensive.

Video lessons:

ItalianPod101 also features short video lessons. In them, you practice answering questions and listening to explanations. With video, you can see how the speaker is using their mouth to mimic the sounds they make.

In relation to video lessons, we must state that most of them are of very low quality. We refer to video slideshows with an audio track. Some would even consider them audio lessons. It seems to be an initial attempt on their part to start venturing into video lessons.

But, there is a series in their video collection, by the Italian host Ilaria, that are of great quality. These are available in the Beginner and Intermediate categories only. In these videos, she’s in front of the camera and you can see how she pronounces each Italian word. She has a pleasant personality and a decent amount of video lessons. There are about 50 audio lessons hosted by her.

Flashcards:

This is a very nice feature that they add once you have a premium membership. And we would like to mention some of the reasons that make this flashcard tool interesting.

First of all, it continues on where your lessons left you. In other words, the flashcards show you the same vocabulary you’ve been hearing in the main lessons. This is helpful because the words are fresh in your brain and before you forget them, you get exposed to them again.

Besides the actual flashcards, you get to hear the words pronounced again as well. They also give you examples. They show you how each word fits into different contexts as well as the one you heard in your lesson.

The flashcard tool uses spaced repetition theory. This means that it considers our tendency to forget recently learned items. It then organizes the words you will review taking this tendency into account. Since we have a forgetting curve, they schedule revisits to the words to take place before we forget them. This is an exciting topic. If you want to read a whole article on this, click here.

The Flashcard’s interface is OK. Not the coolest thing out there, but it’s free of glitches and it does its work.

When using these Flashcards, you’ll have the main word bank. It has 2,000 words with pronunciation and example sentences for all entries. When you’re proficient in using 2,000 words you’re quite fluent in a language (well, at least in most cases). Once you reach that milestone you can “graduate.” It means you can get your vocabulary from native material. This includes books, newspapers, or anywhere on the Internet.

Mobile application:

Do you remember we asked you when we opened this post: “Do you want to learn Italian but you’re always on the go?” Well, the answer to that is ItalianPod101’s mobile application.

You can take advantage of all that we have shared with you about this platform any time you want. You can use it while you commute, while you’re doing chores, or anytime that you’re not in front of your computer.

ItalianPod101’s biggest benefit is that they focus on portability. They’ve done a great job with their mobile app in the aspect of delivering a genuine mobile experience. It’s not only well-designed, but it’s also very easy to use and suitable.

We explained you could download the lessons and transcripts on your PC or laptop. Well, you can also download files via the app.

You can download this app for free. It’s available for Android, iPhone, iPad, and Kindle Fire.

We must also mention that ItalianPod101 comes with a supplemental free flashcard app. Its name is “Word Power”. This app is only devoted to giving you flashcards. But it is a bit clunky and we wouldn’t recommend it.

PDF lesson notes:

These notes are very thorough. It’s easy to see they’ve had a lot of work put into them. Please take advantage of these notes. A good thing to do would be to print them and keep them for reference even after your subscription ends.

Cultural Insights:

Some courses completely pass by this important point. This happens with platforms that cover a whole array of languages.

Innovative Languages is the company behind ItalianPod101. It has also produced and up till now sustains courses in 33 other languages. But they don’t follow what other similar companies do. Hence, Innovative Languages pays special attention to cultural insights. This is why they include them in every lesson of ItalianPod101. That definitely is a huge help because language and culture go hand in hand.

ItalianPod101 Cons

Although this platform ticks several boxes, it’s far from perfect. There are areas that need a lot of improvement and others that need to have a different approach. Thus, here is our list of things we dislike about ItalianPod101.

1. They have attempted to organize all their lessons through what they call “pathways.” But they still need a lot of improvement in this area. They have grouped the lessons by topics but not necessarily by their level of difficulty.

2. They include quizzes along the course but we say the number is insufficient. There could still be more quizzes available for those that like to test their learning.

3. Since the main focus of this course is podcasts, any extra content would be bonuses. But some of these bonuses need a lot of improvement. For example, they should redo most of their video lessons as well as upgrade their Word Power app.

4. They give a lot of the explanations in English (even at the higher levels). We understand that up to a certain beginner level, it could help. However, intermediate and advanced students would gain from a model that favors immersion.

5. Even when you’re already a member, get prepared for aggressive email marketing.

ItalianPod101 Pros

Without a doubt, this is an outstanding platform. Here are some of the features that make it worth considering giving it a try.

1. It’s very easy to get started. In the registration process, you don’t have a lot of fields to fill in so it’s very fast.

2. The platform is intuitive for brand new users. You’ll find your way around the lessons without a lot of effort.

3. The site is well designed. No glitches nor bugs.

4. After you test drive it and decide you would like to buy one of their memberships, they have good deals. Even for the basic, it provides 850+ lessons (between audio and video lessons). This is great value for your money.

5. It’s structured to encourage you. It automatically displays your progress when you complete each module.

6. You can use it across all your devices: it works on the web, tablets, and mobile phones. You can even use it on your Kindle Fire.

7. Audio lessons are top-notch.

8. Flashcards are in sync with your progress on your lessons. Consequently, this makes them very helpful to solidify the vocabulary you’ve recently learned.

9. It dives into cultural insights in each lesson.

10. PDF lesson notes have a lot of work put into them. You can use them for reference even years after you cancel your membership.

11. You can download all the lessons, the transcript of the lessons, PDF lesson notes, etc. You own what you pay for.

12. ItalianPod101 is continually updated. It’s common to see them add new audio and video lessons. They come with a tag that says “New” so you won’t miss them.

How much does ItalianPod101 cost?

First of all, you can sign up for a 7-day free trial. This test drive is a good opportunity for you to decide if it’s a good fit. Then you can consider the different packages they offer.

A_Roman_Soldier_and_the _spear

There are three plans: Basic, Premium, and Premium Plus. Each of these plans differs in price. We’ll check what each plan includes and how much they cost. If you click a link on this post and buy access to a plan, then we will receive a small commission at no added cost to you.

Features included in the Basic package ($8 per month or $4 per month with a 2-year subscription):

Access to all their lessons.

In-Depth Lesson Notes.

100 core words and phrases.

Access the Basic package through all your devices using the app. This includes iPhones, iPads, and Android phones and tablets.

Features of the Premium package ($25 per month or $10 per month with a 2-year subscription):

The Premium package includes all the features mentioned for the Basic package. It also adds the ones mentioned here.

Line-by-Line Audio Dialogue.

Access the Premium package through all your devices using the app.

Flashcards sync with your lessons and based on a spaced repetition system.

You have the option of recording yourself to compare it with the native speaker.

Custom words lists.

Season vocabulary.

Word bank.

Grammar bank.

Audio dictionary.

Vocabulary slideshow.

2000 core words and phrases.

HD Video.

Features of the Premium Plus package ($47 per month or $22.88 per month with a 2-year plan):

The Premium Plus package includes all the features mentioned for the Premium package. It also includes the ones mentioned here.

The main benefit of this package is it gives you access to a teacher. This personalizes your learning curriculum according to your goals, level, and study needs.

Access to the Premium Plus package through all your devices using the app.

It’s very important to mention that there is a 60-day 100% money-back guarantee policy. This is in case you are not satisfied with the package you buy.

Roman_soldier_with_a_spear_against_a_leopard

Wrapping up

I hope this post has helped you to get a clear and balanced outlook of what you’ll find inside the platform.

Our appraisal is that ItalianPod101 is outstanding. It needs to improve in several areas. But in the condition it is in now, and based on how much their subscriptions cost, we say it’s great value for your money.

We strongly recommend not to buy any plan until you first try the 7-day free trial. With the trial, you’ll access all the content for free without giving payment information.

Wow, you have made it to the end of this review. After reading this post, taking action by opening a free account would be a simple step. Click here to check ItalianPod101 for yourself.

Phew_Roman_soldier


116 Comments

LearnToEarn Admin · January 22, 2021 at 1:39 PM

You have done well to introduce a novel way of learning Italian with comic characters. Thank you for taking the time to put this together. From your review it sounds like there need to be quite a few improvements made to rate this as a top notch program. I guess their packages are affordable, but the fact that they need to upgrade their platform seems to indicate a slight lack of commitment to bring the best quality to the customer.
Personally, I prefer the other free pckages that you mention on anotherblog. Will be checking those out!

    Jonathan Henry · January 22, 2021 at 11:54 PM

    Hi, thank you very much for reading this review and expressing your comment. It’s much appreciated. All the best learning Italian.

Groomy Dude · January 23, 2021 at 1:18 AM

Hello Jonathan,

Very nice review! I can see you have taken a lot of time investigating to put this article together. Thank you for compiling in one place all I needed. It has helped me cut down on the time I spend finding if Italianpod101 works or not.

I have looked at other platforms for learning Italian. But when I came across Italianpod101, I found it offered a nice flow of lessons that let you chose your path of interest and is less expensive than many of the others. Your post has given me a really nice bird sight view of the course.

Btw, I also enjoyed going around your site. Cool cartoons!

Thanks, 

Chad

    Jonathan Henry · January 23, 2021 at 11:56 PM

    Being able to customize your own learning based on your interests is cool! And yes, Italianpod101 is really affordable.

Lily · January 23, 2021 at 1:20 AM

Thanks for your honest review. It’s rather difficult to find people that share the good and the bad in a balanced way. Based on what I read here, I think ItalianPod101 needs some adjustments. But it’s good to know the flaws beforehand. There are still several things I like. I’ll take advantage of the 7-day free trial offer.

    Jonathan Henry · January 23, 2021 at 11:54 PM

    Hi, thank you for reading our review. Enjoy your 7-day free trial learning Italian.

Meme · January 24, 2021 at 4:36 AM

Yes, we are always needing to find ways to do more in less time. This is a great place to start for a beginner. I always take advantage of the free trial. It is worth it, but you may as well just sign up if this is something you are interested in. Love this site. I never even imagined learning Italian (maybe Spanish or French), but this is the way to go!! I am excited as a nurse we come in contact with lots of patient population. While we have a language interpreter it doesn’t hurt to be able to know some of it and be able to recognize simple words. 

    Jonathan Henry · January 24, 2021 at 11:54 PM

    Hi,

    it’s great that you want to learn Italian. Take advantage of ItalianPod101’s free trial. All the best.

Tracey · January 25, 2021 at 5:07 PM

Thank you for bringing this to my attention, I am interested in learning a language and glad I came across this article. I like the idea we are able to test it out for 7 days and the signup is user friendly. Being certified by the CEFR is a big plus in my book. I’ll give it a try.

    Jonathan Henry · January 25, 2021 at 11:48 PM

    Hi Tracey,

    Yes, check it out. If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to ask them here.

NoBossExperience · January 25, 2021 at 8:04 PM

I remember about 15 years ago I bought an old audiobook to learn Italian. My first language is French, so some sound were easy for me to pick up. The problem was that my Spanish was not well stabilized yet, I will say. So I started to confuse Spanish and Italian words. That’s why I stopped learning Italian. But now I’m interested in picking it up again.

    Jonathan Henry · January 25, 2021 at 11:52 PM

    Yes, I know by first hand experience that Spanish and Italian are very close.

    Good you’re giving Italian a second chance.

Cogito · January 26, 2021 at 10:00 PM

Hey Jonathan. Very interesting article. To be fair, I’m just starting learning Italian and posts like this are extremely useful. I was reading a bit before about ItalianPod101 and opinion were quite mixed. But looking on your detailed review, it seems as a good starting point for a beginner. I want to test trial and see if it suits me.

    Jonathan Henry · January 26, 2021 at 10:39 PM

    Hi, I am glad this review gave you some insight that encouraged you to try their free trial.

Rebekah Kann · January 27, 2021 at 6:37 PM

First thing, I love the cartoons for this! it seems like fun to learn a new language with those cartoons! I do wonder if you are thinking of helping others learn not just Italian speaking but maybe Spanish. I am going to be learning more of that than this one you mentioned. 

Thanks again for the review. It’s great to learn what you like about this. 

    Jonathan Henry · January 27, 2021 at 6:54 PM

    Hola, my first language is Spanish. Thank you for telling me you would appreciate tips for learning Spanish. I may start a project in that direction. Keep well!

Chuck Adkins · January 28, 2021 at 3:41 PM

Hi there, great article. I was just exploring a trip to Italy the other day. I think that learning some Italian before I go. I think this program will work great based on your review. The price seems reasonable but I really like the fact that it’s a mobile platform. This will make it easy to learn on the go. I love your pictures BTW. Thank you

    Jonathan Henry · January 28, 2021 at 11:59 PM

    Yes, give it a try.

    Thank you!

JT2ME · January 29, 2021 at 1:21 AM

Very informative article and very honest too. I applaud you on the way you mentioned the video portion of the website that needs work so at least an individual considering this program knows this up front.

You have laid out the program in an easy to understand format, nicely written.

I, like the others, love the roman soldier cartoon. Nice touch!

    Jonathan Henry · January 29, 2021 at 3:04 AM

    Thank you for your good words about this article.

    I believe that clearly saying the good and the bad about every program I review is the way I can help my readers.

Valkira Gaming · January 31, 2021 at 7:05 PM

Honestly, I’m not a “learn languages easy” type of person. But I’m pretty sure that constantly listening to good lessons can empower you to learn. Despite my previous experiences with languages, this course seems to be what I need to get my foot in the door with Italian. I’ll give it a try. Thank you!

    Jonathan Henry · January 31, 2021 at 8:28 PM

    I am glad this post encouraged you to give languages (and specifically Italian) a second chance.

Volkert · January 31, 2021 at 8:31 PM

Great review article you have here and thank you for sharing such an information article. The step by step sign up process is easy to follow. And considering that their main lessons features audio and video makes it easier to follow and keep up the learning speed. Am curious. In cases where you have concerns about different aspects of topics that are being learnt, like do they have a provision for asking questions or not?

    Jonathan Henry · January 31, 2021 at 8:51 PM

    Yes, you can ask questions and you receive 1-on-1 access to a teacher that personalizes the learning program and also gives you ongoing professional assessment with the Premium+ membership.

Boi · February 1, 2021 at 12:41 PM

Oh what a wonderful platform. There are indeed so many good platforms out there that many of us may find useful but we’re not aware they even exist.

This goes for me and ItalianPod101. I had no idea that it was possible to learn Italian while we commute. The fact that they have a 7 days free trial is so wonderful. Most of the time we don’t sign up to a lot of good things because often signing up isn’t easy. What I like about this is that getting stated seems to be quiet straightforward.

I like the fact that you even walked us through the header menu on ItalianPod101. Great job. The audio lessons, the video lessons, the flashcards, the pdf lessons… I’m excited! And even after the 7 days free trial, it’s affordable.

Thank you for opening my eyes to this.

    Jonathan Henry · February 1, 2021 at 1:02 PM

    You’re most welcome. I’m happy you found ItalianPod101 useful. It’s great to test drive products for free before we have to make any decision.

NicoleSpirals · February 1, 2021 at 8:34 PM

I took Italian in high school (which was over 20 years ago) and it would be nice to brush up on the language. I was interested in it because I have Italian roots and my nona spoke it a little bit. She’s passed now so I can’t learn from her anymore but a program like this could help. Using the characters is a cute idea. I might give the free trial a try! Thanks for such a detailed review!

    Jonathan Henry · February 1, 2021 at 11:54 PM

    Hi Nicole,

    It’s nice to hear you have Italian roots. I encourage you to brush up on the language. All the best.

Nuttanee · February 2, 2021 at 1:16 AM

Thank you for your review on Italianpod 101. I have to say that learning Italian is another goal of mine but I just do not have the time to learn or study at all. I am stuck with work and this crazy global pandemic. Anyways, enough rant. I love the fact that they offer the 7 day free course, that will be a chance for me to decide if this course is for me or not. I love that the audios lessons are downloadable, so that I can listen to it over and over. I will certainly check this course out. 

    Jonathan Henry · February 2, 2021 at 4:12 AM

    Hi, yes, time is a valuable commodity. Audios lessons can help us when we feel we don’t have time.

    I wish you the best. Thanks for stopping by and for your comment.

Alex · February 3, 2021 at 1:23 PM

Learning languages is hard. And outside of going to a country where the language you want to learn is spoken as their native tongue it is difficult to know how best to learn them.

I met a 15-year-old Albanian guy who learned Italian, Spanish and English just by working in a hotel and trying to speak to the guests. And in the same hotel I met an American girl who spoke Spanish, German and Italian and was learning Greek, (we were in Greece). Her technique was to write a few new words or phrase down each day and try to master them. I always wanted to learn a second language but neither of these approaches has worked for me.

So when reading your review it is reassuring to know Italian Pod 101’s approach could be what I really need.

    Jonathan Henry · February 3, 2021 at 1:55 PM

    We all learn languages differently. I encourage you to give Italian Pod 101’s free trial a try.

Marthin Louw · February 4, 2021 at 5:10 PM

Nice job on introducing this way of learning to people and highlighting both the good and the bad about the program. I myself have never really been interested in learning another language but I might just try this free trial that they are offering just to see how it really is. Do you know of other language app that might be the same or better? My wife always wanted to learn Japanese?

    Jonathan Henry · February 4, 2021 at 5:58 PM

    To learn Japanese she could check out Duolingo (that’s a free app) and also test drive JapanesePod101 for free for 7 days.

MIchel · February 5, 2021 at 6:49 AM

I like the way that this course is laid out, and especially the fact that they have choices of pathways that you can choose from. This is especially handy if you need to learn some emergency Italian, and only need to know certain words and phrases.

I also love the fun way that Italian is introduced and the short lessons, which makes it great for learning on the go.

The flashcards are another really nice added bonus.

    Jonathan Henry · February 5, 2021 at 1:49 PM

    Yes, having choices of pathways is especially useful if you need to learn some emergency Italian. Not all courses allow you to craft your program.

Astrostar · February 6, 2021 at 12:20 AM

Hey there,

Thanks for sharing this article. Being able to travel to a country and easily blend in and associate with the natives is what I have always wanted when I take a plane on vacations. But it requires learning their language and that takes time. But taking advantage on these platforms that teach you on the go is just what I need to do!

    Jonathan Henry · February 6, 2021 at 12:49 AM

    I’m glad you like to travel and also learn the language of the places where you go! The travelling experience is way more fulfilling!

Joyce Easton · February 6, 2021 at 5:52 PM

Being able to connect easily with people in a foreign land is one of the challenges most people face when traveling on vacation. They need to learn the native language of the land they are visiting, so they can communicate in simple terms and exchange words easily. I’ve always had this fear whenever I decided to travel. So, I carefully select where to go when it’s time to visit another country. Good to know that this platform could help me a lot! Thanks.

Joyce

    Jonathan Henry · February 6, 2021 at 11:58 PM

    Hi, Joyce. You’re not the only one that gets frightened when confronted with a foreign language. Yeah, ItalianPod101 would be helpful!

Nedia · February 6, 2021 at 6:20 PM

Wow! Thanks for such a great breakdown of this language course program.

I love learning new languages. I currently speak French and English. And after reading this article, I believe Italian will be a good third one.

There are two things I like the most about Italianpod 101 program as outlined in this review. The first one is the cultural insight. I strongly believe that the best and easiest way for someone to learn a language is by learning about the people and culture that speak that language. Once you’re familiar with those two, the language will simply just flow as a bonus. It’s more like learning your boyfriend or girlfriend’s language LOL!

The second thing that I like is that every lesson, be it audio or PDF, can be downloaded. Thus, there is no need to always rely on having internet. This is great because we do not always have access to internet (and sometimes we have but it’s not a fast connection).

Once again, thanks for this detailed review!

    Jonathan Henry · February 6, 2021 at 11:55 PM

    Hi, I’m glad you found it useful!

Sw33t_Mints · February 8, 2021 at 6:08 AM

I have always wanted to go to Paris. But I don’t speak a word of French. And here is your website informing me of this app that teaches French. I love the “My teacher tab” feature that assigns you your personal teacher. It’s a great way to get some one on one time and extra study practice. That’s just what I need.

    Jonathan Henry · February 8, 2021 at 2:51 PM

    It’s good to hear you would like to learn French. Frenchpod101 will help you a lot.

John Caroline · February 10, 2021 at 6:45 AM

Hello,

You’ve got a helpful article here. The Italianpod101 is great for those of us that are constantly traveling. I was very impressed while reading through the features it offers. And I like that we don’t have to risk anything because we can test drive their course for free for 7 days.

    Jonathan Henry · February 10, 2021 at 10:07 PM

    Hi, yes, it’s great for travelers. Give the free trial a try!

Chris · February 17, 2021 at 12:37 PM

This looks like a great product for learning Italian.  Does this platform do other languages too?  I have thought about learning another language but didn’t know there was this.  Have you personally used it? or do you know someone who has used it? Approximately how long will it take to learn this language? Nice review.

    Jonathan Henry · February 17, 2021 at 3:09 PM

    Hi,

    yes, this platform teaches other languages too. You could check them at Innovative Language.

    Yes, I have used it. And I know you’ll start to see results quickly if you commit.

Misael H · February 22, 2021 at 3:59 PM

Thank you for this thorough and honest review of Italianpod101. This has been a useful article for me. I am someone who is very interested in learning languages. So I really found a lot of value from what you write here. Especially since it’s a platform that can be used on the go!

    Jonathan Henry · February 22, 2021 at 4:29 PM

    Hi Misael,

    Thank you for stopping by. We encourage you to try the free trial.

Sharon · February 23, 2021 at 12:41 PM

I have been looking for a way to learn Italian. I like the availability to test drive before buying. Now is the perfect time to learn another language, so when travel opens up again we are ready to go. The cartoon characters make your site fun. Love the total immersion features: Audio, Video, Flash Cards, Mobile, and cultural insights. And the price is very affordable.

    Jonathan Henry · February 23, 2021 at 7:32 PM

    Hi, I am you took note of the immersion features. I encourage you to test drive the program for free for 7 days.

Tamsin · February 23, 2021 at 12:47 PM

Thank you for sharing your feedback on ItalianPod101. I’m learning Spanish rather than Italian, so have now started checking out SpanishPod101. I have heard of this language app but hadn’t ever investigated further – which I will do now 🙂 

Your feedback on the app is really helpful, especially the part about being able to download all of the content. I commute to work by tube (subway) so often there isn’t any signal. Being able to download it and listen to it offline is perfect for me. I also love that they seem to have lots of content so you can learn in different ways as best suits your learning style. I’m excited to explore more of this. Thanks!

    Jonathan Henry · February 23, 2021 at 7:35 PM

    Hola, I also speak Spanish and I encourage you to pursue this goal. Yeah, being able to download is a huge bonus.

LineCowley · February 23, 2021 at 12:52 PM

I had not come across ItalianPod101 before. Reading your post, there are several things I liked. One is that they use real life situations to present a lesson. I have done an Italian beginners course but found that the audio lessons were presented by an English speaking person, so it didn’t sound authentic compared with a native speaker. I then signed up for a live class and found there was so much English being used by the other students, that I didn’t learn as much as I was hoping for. 

My Italian is now at an intermediate level, so I will try the seven day trial to see if this is a course that will suit my needs. It does seem to be an affordable program. 

    Jonathan Henry · February 23, 2021 at 7:39 PM

    Yes, I also like that they use real-life situations to present lessons. Yeah, you have nothing to lose with the 7-day trial.

Justin · February 25, 2021 at 10:00 PM

This sounds like a very interesting concept concerning the way that this program is used. I like the different options you are given concerning either audio, video, app, or others. I also like the fact that you have different options to choose from if you feel as if what you were put on is too much. It kind of allows you to go at your own pace. Also, the fact that you have a teacher that can help you out is a great feature. I can see this being good to use for anyone that wants to begin learning a language and does not know where to start. 

    Jonathan Henry · February 26, 2021 at 2:24 PM

    Hey Justin,

    thank you very much for sharing your impression about italianpod101. I agree it’s a good place to start for anyone that wants to begin learning a language.

Farah Rehman · March 8, 2021 at 10:40 PM

I have been trying to learn other languages for some time. From Urdu to French and it’s still a pending task. However, coming across ItalianPod101 has encouraged me. The fact that Innovative Languages has courses for 33 other languages makes me want to give it a try! 

Being able to test the waters with the 7-day free trial before you commit is great!

Sariyah · March 10, 2021 at 5:19 PM

Currently, I can speak two different languages and am willing to expand.

I would love to learn another language. So, I’m studying Spanish but Italian has also been thought. 

It can be busy at times therefore this software would be a great option to fit in my schedule. Thanks for bringing this to my attention!

    Jonathan Henry · March 10, 2021 at 10:36 PM

    Hi, I’m glad you’re already bilingual. These courses will help you a lot, whatever language you choose.

Bogadi · March 10, 2021 at 5:25 PM

Hi! Thank you for introducing Italianpod101. It sounds like a great program to use to learn Italian. I always encourage my kids to learn a new and foreign language. Honestly, Italian has not crossed my mind but with an opportunity of a 7-day free trial at Italianpod101, it’s worth checking and exploring.

    Jonathan Henry · March 10, 2021 at 10:40 PM

    Hi Bogadi, I’m glad you’re considering the 7-day free trial. Italianpod101 will help your children with the language.

Geoff · March 13, 2021 at 7:38 PM

This is a very comprehensive overview of this Italian course. It’s cool that you can try it for 7 days for free before having to decide. I particularly like the fact that you can get 1-on-1 contact with a teacher so that you have help if you get stuck on something.

    Jonathan Henry · March 13, 2021 at 9:35 PM

    Hi, yeah being able to test drive for free makes it easier to make the decision. I hope you continue enjoying your language-learning journey.

Jason Mick Brody · March 20, 2021 at 4:08 AM

What a great way of learning Italian especially that you can learn from any device. Thank you for sharing this very helpful and informative post. When I need to learn Italian one day, I will definitely be using this ItalianPod101 platform because it is so easy to use and anywhere I go.

    Jonathan Henry · March 20, 2021 at 1:47 PM

    Hi Jason,

    yeah, I believe ItalianPod101’s biggest benefit is that they focus on portability.

Rachel · March 22, 2021 at 3:32 PM

Thanks for sharing this article with us! It’s always nice to have a lot of resources when you are wishing to learn another language. I know your site focusing on learning the Italian language but I am glad that Innovative Languages offers more courses through their platform. The pricing also seems reasonable and the pros seem to out way to cons so I will be giving this service a go in the future.

    Jonathan Henry · March 22, 2021 at 11:47 PM

    Hi Rachel. It’s nice to hear you would like to try Innovative Languages’ podcast-style approach. Happy learning!

Antarctic Adventures · March 25, 2021 at 7:43 PM

I have actually tried ItaianPod101 before and I had a great experience. It really helped when I was living in Germany and driving to Italy alot on weekend trips. I was able to do some basic communication with the Italians, especially since they hate speaking English lol. Thank you for this review

    Jonathan Henry · March 25, 2021 at 8:47 PM

    Your comment about Italians hating to speak English made me smile. It’s nice that you have already tried 
    ItaianPod101 and have had good results. Thanks for sharing your experience with us.

Monique Richie · March 25, 2021 at 7:52 PM

I like the cartoon soldier. Kinda cool, running away from the tiger until he finds a weapon. But then the tiger goes away. It reminds me of fearing a foreign language until I get a grip on the language and then the fear goes away. 🙂

I think this is worth a try. Especially because of the 7-day free trial. Thank you for your detailed review.

    Jonathan Henry · March 25, 2021 at 8:57 PM

    That’s a nice analogy between the tiger and our fears. Thanks for sharing it!

    Yes, giving ItalianPod101 is a no-brainer. Enjoy the course!

Rose · March 29, 2021 at 7:08 AM

You really did an honest and thorough review of ItalianPod101.

The very platform, how to navigate it, what is included on the basic, premium, and premium plus packages are well explained. You also gave a good idea of how each lesson on the package can be viewed or taken for study.

You are very honest in presenting the commendations, critics, pros, and cons.

But in my personal view as once a document provider and technical contributor for food manufacturing systems,  the price of each package should remain the same if the improvements being expected are provided. I’d accept the addition of another package with a higher price but not a change in the price of current packages. I’d like to set apart a budget having the guarantee that the price won’t change for me.

    Jonathan Henry · March 29, 2021 at 7:17 PM

    Hi Rose.

    Yes, I agree with you concerning the price of their packages.

    They have a long time maintaining the same price. However, if you would like to secure the current price, they have 2-year plans in which you even get a huge discount.

Online business · March 29, 2021 at 7:12 AM

I did an Italian beginners course but found that the audio lessons were presented by an English-speaking person. And he didn’t sound authentic compared with a native speaker. I see that there is a lot of conversational banter in English in this course too. Are the hosts native Italian speakers? I wouldn’t like to repeat the story of my previous course.

    Jonathan Henry · March 29, 2021 at 7:28 PM

    Good point! Yes, I openly tell you beforehand that a lot of conversational banter in English takes place on ItalianPod101. And I don’t agree with that. I believe that in the higher levels, this should not happen. But you still get an authentic Italian course because the hosts are native Italian speakers. You could check it out by yourself with the 7-day free trial.

    Thanks for stopping by and for your question.

Parameter · April 1, 2021 at 9:03 AM

I’m slow when it comes to learning languages. So, if I can learn on my mobile, that would increase my exposure to the language and thus, should reduce the time I tarry to get a good grip of the language.

I also like that I could be assigned a private teacher who can personalize my learning curriculum. Although it is optional, I think I may need this further on. 

    Jonathan Henry · April 2, 2021 at 11:53 PM

    Hey! I really encourage you to give this mobile-friendly platform a try.

    Concerning a private tutor, I also recommend you check out italki!

    Thank you for stopping by and all the best learning Italian!

Stephanie · April 3, 2021 at 11:38 PM

Along with Duolingo, I have used this platform in the past. It took me a while to get used to how it works but it was indeed really helpful. The modules that they teach you are easy to follow along. And you can get back on track easily whenever you spend some time away. I have tried a lot of websites and apps, but so far this is one of my favorites. 

    Jonathan Henry · April 3, 2021 at 11:59 PM

    I’m glad you’ve had a good experience using Italianpod101. Yes, it takes a few days getting used to the program but once you do, it quickly finds a place into your daily life.

Christina · April 3, 2021 at 11:44 PM

Never heard of this, but I do like that they intertwine language and culture. Culture is a huge part of language, as you said. I personally have some doubts about these apps. They always seem somehow lacking, never able to really provide what you actually fully need in order to be fluent in any language.

    Jonathan Henry · April 3, 2021 at 11:59 PM

    Hi Christina. Yes you’re right. The inclusion of culture in this language app is a very good point. Many of the big language teaching companies out there (Rosetta Stone, Duolingo) don’t include this.

    I also agree with you in that each app has weaknesses. And they are more like aids and not one-stop solutions. But I think the right thing to do is to take advantage of Italianpod101’s 7-day free trial. Based on your own experience you can determine if it’s a good program for you.

    Thank you very much for stopping by and for your comment.

Dan · April 4, 2021 at 12:19 PM

I know some languages are harder to learn than others. I was wondering if Italian was any harder or easier than other languages? Really enjoyed the thorough breakdown of the course you presented. I also love they assign a teacher to you. This is so important in learning pronunciation and a great way to keep you on track. The price doesn’t break the bank either. Thanks! 

    Jonathan Henry · April 5, 2021 at 11:54 PM

    Italian is fairly close to English, so it could be considered an easy language to learn for English speakers. There are easier (closer languages such as German or Norwegian) and harder (with less things in common, such as Hebrew or Arabic).

    It’s important to note that a teacher is only assigned to you with the Premium Plus membership.

Nina · April 9, 2021 at 8:11 AM

I studied Italian in high school and college. I lived near the Italian border for a while. At that time I spoke Italian fluently.

But then I moved. Right now I haven’t used Italian for over 15 years. So I have lost a lot of vocabulary.

I came across the ItalianPod101 YouTube channel and it was fun. So I decided to research about the platform.

The ItalianPod101 cost is pretty affordable. And since they have this free trial, I may as well give it a try.

    Jonathan Henry · April 9, 2021 at 10:34 PM

    Thank you for sharing how you learned Italian in your childhood. That’s the best way to learn a language. I believe that you could recover all your vocabulary in a matter of months if you get daily exposure to the language. Yeah, try the ItalianPod101 free trial! You’ll like it!

Ivan · April 9, 2021 at 3:43 PM

One of the features that I like the most is the ItalianPod101 app. We’re always on the go these days, so having access to these Italian podcast lessons via an app is awesome.

I personally like to learn from video and audio lessons. And they have included both. And Flashcards could also do a trick. Overall, it seems like the creators of ItalianPod101 have thought about everything.

    Jonathan Henry · April 9, 2021 at 11:00 PM

    Yeah, the ItalianPod101 app is a very handy tool. It’s difficult for us to devote a full hour daily to learn a language. But having an app like this, we can get exposed to Italian while we’re doing other activities in our daily life.

Silvie Mazacova · April 9, 2021 at 9:05 PM

Hi,

I’ve been using Duolingo for years. And although it’s great to expand our vocabulary, it’s not that amazing for our conversational skills.

I was interested in finding Italian podcast lessons. And the ItalianPod101 app seems to be great. Considering that the price is not too bad and they offer a 7-day free trial, I think I might give this a go!

    Jonathan Henry · April 9, 2021 at 11:47 PM

    Their podcast style is a good way to listen to Italian. And listening is key to develop conversational skills.

Christine · April 10, 2021 at 4:25 AM

I learned Italian a long time ago but I haven’t practiced in years. I think I have an intermediate level. Italianpod101 sounds like a good course. I also like that it focuses more on dialogue instead of grammar. I would prefer explanations to be in the language you’re learning, a full immersion, but I understand that it’s sometimes better to explain things in English on beginners levels. The flashcards are also a good and useful feature. Prices are great too, all three levels are affordable and seem to offer a lot of value.

    Jonathan Henry · April 10, 2021 at 11:23 PM

    Thank you very much for stopping by. Podcasts to learn Italian are great for those who have never had experience with the language. But for you, they’ll just be awesome. A couple of episodes and you’ll be saying “buongiorno” and “grazie mille” to everybody!

    All the best!

Danijela · April 12, 2021 at 7:49 AM

Thank you for an honest and broad presentation of this platform. It indeed is affordable!

I love learning languages. And the Romance language group is my favorite. As a child, I learned Italian at school. However, the learning program was not intensive, so I just learned the basics. Now I would like to perfect what I learned and the ItalianPod101 platform seems great for me.
Keep writing useful post like this!
Greetings,
Danijela

    Jonathan Henry · April 12, 2021 at 11:58 PM

    I’m glad you’re encouraged to brush up your Italian skills. You’ll be speaking Italian in no time.

Dorothy Jackson · April 12, 2021 at 11:50 PM

Hello Jonathan, this is awesome a new way of learning Italian pod 101, you said it is easy to learn and fun I know it need to be fun that helps with learning, and a free trial very good, about a year ago I would have been interesting, but now my plate is full I work a job and I am building a website and it takes all of my time plus there are others thing as well, I wish I had the time, I am having eye surgery too.
Thank you so much,

    Jonathan Henry · April 12, 2021 at 11:59 PM

    Thank you

Dorothy Jackson · April 13, 2021 at 12:00 AM

A new way of learning Italian. I listen to a lot of podcasts. So this podcast-style course sounds interesting. Since it has this free trial, it’s easy to check out for ourselves. However, I’m just seeing what’s available, but presently I won’t join. I have so many things going on. But I’ll keep this in the back of my mind.                                  

    Jonathan Henry · April 13, 2021 at 3:56 AM

    Hi Dorothy, that’s perfectly fine. It’s a pleasure to have you. And I’m glad you found the idea of an Italian podcast course useful. I hope you can soon be able to give it a try! All the best. 

Anna · April 15, 2021 at 10:32 PM

Hi There,

Thank you for the great review. It is very clear and comprehensive. Outlining the pros and cons is really useful. I always wanted to learn another language.  ItalianPod101 seems like a very user friendly way to do it. It also seems affordable. In addition, I like that it has the 60-day 100% money-back guarantee policy.

    Jonathan Henry · April 15, 2021 at 10:59 PM

    Hi!

    Yes, ItalianPod101 is user-friendly. And its 60-day 100% money-back guarantee is a good policy.

    Thank you very much for visiting us and stopping by to leave your impressions.

Kokontala · April 19, 2021 at 2:49 AM

Hi Henry, pleased to meet you. I’ve just read your article on the ItalianPod101 review. I found it very helpful because I always wanted to learn languages, especially Italian, Spanish and French. I am glad I came across this post today because I think ItalianPod101 is what I need right now. I am hoping that I will get the best out of it. Thanks for sharing this post with us.

    Jonathan Henry · April 19, 2021 at 6:08 PM

    You’re welcome. I hope you get the best out of it.

pitin · May 21, 2021 at 1:43 PM

ItalianPod101 is a good website with some room for improvement, IMO. Thank you for the clear and balanced outlook of what we’ll find inside the platform.

I wish they take advantage of the potential there is in video. It would be an awesome course if all their podcasts had good videos. Thanks for highlighting Ilaria’s videos. I’ll check them out during the trial.

    Jonathan Henry · May 21, 2021 at 4:34 PM

    Yes, I agree with you concerning videos. I hope they develop the section dedicated to videos in the near future. Thumbs up for Ilaria’s videos on Italianpod101.

Max · May 21, 2021 at 1:45 PM

This is an awesome review. I currently use Duolingo for learning Spanish. By the time I finish, I still don’t think I’ll be *quite* at intermediate level.  But Duolingo is very convenient. And it sounds like this podcast-style course too. So, maybe Spanishpod101 will be my next step. Even though the pathways options are less structured as you mention, I think at first I’d use the program with these pathways before diving into the other content. Thanks for the detailed review.

    Jonathan Henry · May 21, 2021 at 4:45 PM

    I am glad you’ve been using Duolingo. And as you have stated, Duolingo is good to get you started but it won’t take you to an intermediate level. You would like to check out this post, and read what Duolingo’s SEO had to say about what to expect from their platform. At this stage you’re in, I’d encourage to combine Duolingo with other platforms. The Innovative language courses would be a good option.

Jessi · May 21, 2021 at 1:49 PM

ItalianPod101 sounds like an interesting tool for learning a new language! I have always wanted to learn a new language. But being in a rural state, there aren’t a lot of in-person options (outside of Spanish classes).

Something like this would be a great alternative to regular in-person classes. Does the access to a teacher include video chats with an instructor, or just that they will tailor the course-work to your needs?

    Jonathan Henry · May 21, 2021 at 4:52 PM

    Yes, Italianpod101 would be an effective and much cheaper alternative to in-person courses. But concerning video chats with an instructor, I would not recommend Italianpod101. Please try Italki instead

Christine · July 29, 2021 at 10:48 PM

After diving a bit deeper into Italianpod101 I conclude that speaking the language as much as possible will help you learn. So I like that this program includes a lot of dialogues or at least starts a lesson with a dialogue. I also love that you download lessons and do not need to be online to take them. Audio lessons definitely help to develop listening comprehension, and they can help prepare you for when you’re going to put your knowledge to practice, talk to Italians who are known to speak fast – in general – right?

    Jonathan Henry · July 29, 2021 at 11:00 PM

    Thank you for sharing your impressions about this platform. They are valuable.

Frank · July 29, 2021 at 11:58 PM

Hey, there! This post has thoroughly covered what I wanted to learn about Italianpod101. Thank you, specially for the pros and cons. And it really surprised me that I can download the courses and keep them even after the 7-day trial is over. I think I will join on the free plan and do just that. Cool!

    Jonathan Henry · July 30, 2021 at 3:53 AM

    Hey Frank, I am glad this post helped you make up your mind to give Italianpod101’s free trial a go. All the best!

Grace · September 17, 2021 at 2:18 AM

It seems that Italianpod101 offers an affordable and easy way to learn Italian. They even have a free trial (which is a big plus point). I get to have a sneak peek of the lessons and decide later on whether this is what I am looking for. 

Thanks for the heads up about the formal and informal language structure part. I learnt Japanese and I notice they have similar structure too. 

    Jonathan Henry · September 17, 2021 at 5:32 AM

    Hi Grace,

    Thank you for your comment. As you have said, being able to test drive this program for free makes it a must for anybody wanting to learn Italian. You can decide later on if you want to continue based on your own experience using the platform.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *